Home > Politics > Why Six Lawmakers Were Suspended In Nasarawa – Dep. Speaker

Why Six Lawmakers Were Suspended In Nasarawa – Dep. Speaker

The Nasarawa State lawmakers yesterday explained that violation of its standing rules led to the decision on Monday this week placing six of its members on indefinite suspension.

Deputy Speaker of the House, Godiya Akwashiki (PDP-Nasarawa Eggon West), who disclosed this while briefing newsmen at the Assembly complex, noted that the action became necessary in view of the disgraceful attitudes exhibited by the affected legislators, whom he said turned the Executive and Plenary sessions of the House on Monday to battle grounds.

He said that the affected lawmakers, in clear violation of Order 38, Sub-section 1, 2 and 3 of the House Rule, addressed a press conference where they dwelt on issues that affected the Assembly without the consent of the Speaker who is the Presiding Officer of the Assembly, in addition to turning both executive and plenary sessions of the House into a free-for-all.

Recall that the Nasarawa lawmakers engaged in fisticuffs following disagreement on the appointment of Sole Administrators for 11 of the 13 local government areas of the state by Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, leading to the disruption of processes and destruction of some facilities in the Assembly.

READ ALSO:  Defection In Benue: Lawani, Ebute, Agada, Others Dump PDP For APC

The Deputy Speaker, who was standing-in for Speaker Balarabe Abdullahi, in company of other principal officers at the briefing, revealed that an ad-hoc committee had been constituted to investigate the affected lawmakers and report back to the House within one month for the next line of action to be taken.

Akwashiki denied insinuations making the rounds that the suspension of their colleagues was based on allegation of corruption leveled against them by the embattled members.

He alleged that the action of the suspended lawmakers was beyond their claim for organizing the protest against the appointment of sole administrators for local government councils by the governor but a plot to disrupt the Assembly and takeover its leadership.

The Deputy Speaker insisted that there was nothing wrong in the state executive invoking the doctrine of necessity in the appointment of sole administrators for the local governments in view of a recent state High Court judgement that declared the appointment of transition management committee at the local government as illegal.

READ ALSO:  APC's registration dicey, as rival threatens court action

The suspended lawmakers are; Kassim Mohammed (APC-Akwanga South, Abubakar Obere Kana (APC-Kokona West), Makpa Mala (APC-Wamba), Murtala Sogangi (APC-Nasarawa Central), Musa Isa (APC-Keffi West) and Mohammed Okpoku (APC- Udege/Loko).