Home > Politics > PDP Wins Ife-Central Assembly Bye-Election

PDP Wins Ife-Central Assembly Bye-Election

By Bamidele Moses

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s Candidate, Dipo Eluwole, has emerged winner of the bye-election held into the Osun State House of Assembly last weekend.

The PDP candidate defeated Accord Party (AP) and All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates to emerge victory.

The results of the bye election was announced by the Returning Officer, Dr. Francis Oladimeji on Sunday.

While the PDP candidate had a total of 5,504 Votes, the All Progressives Congress (APC) Candidate, Prince Tilewa Sijuwade, scored 4,587 votes; and Accord Party Candidate, Olusegun Fanibe got 4,790 votes.

The PDP winner defeated APC with a margin of 714 votes.

Others parties who participated in the election‎ are Citizens Popular Party (CPP) had 91 votes; Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP) got 11 votes; votes; and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) had 25 votes.‎

The INEC had declared the bye election held on Saturday inconclusive following the snatching of ballot boxes at Agbedegbe Street, Moore Ojaja Unit 02 and Moore Ojaja Unit 03. A fresh election was conducted on Sunday.

READ ALSO:  Bayelsa Poll: We’ll Checkmate PDP, Says APC Stalwart

During the Sunday re-run ele‎ction, PDP had 82 votes; Accord, 78; and APC 26.

According to the Returning Officer, Dr. Francis Oladimeji, 95114 voters registered: 15312 accredited; ‎15312 total votes cast; 15008 valid votes; and 304 votes were rejected.

The bye-election conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission was to fill the vacant seat of Ife Central Constituency at Osun State House of Assembly.

The seat became vacant following the death of Mr. Oladejo Makinde last December.

After the announcement of Sunday’s result, supporters of the PDP were seen jubilating as they also declared rally.

Speaking after his victory, Eluwole said, “This is a victory well deserved. It’s the beginning of progress and developme‎nt in Ile-Ife and Osun State as a whole.”