Home > Politics > Kogi Assembly Crisis Worsens, G5 Suspends 15 Members

Kogi Assembly Crisis Worsens, G5 Suspends 15 Members

The crisis rocking Kogi State House of Assembly took a new dimension when the five-member factional group suspended the group of 15-member group led by the embattled Speaker, Momoh Jimoh Lawal, from the sitting of the House.

Others purported to have been suspended are Hon. Prince Mathew Kolawole, Hon. Aliyu Akuh, Hon. Omofaiye Victor Adewole, Hon. Sunday Shigaba, Hon. Alfa Momoh Rabiu, Hon. Eneche O Linus, Hon. Obaro A S Pedro, Hon. Ndako Idris and Hon. Zakari Osewu Mohammed.

The suspension followed the adoption of the report of an ad hoc committee headed by Hon. John M.U. Abah set up to investigate the sponsors of the crisis rocking the state Assembly by Rt. Hon. Umar Ahmed Imam-led assembly.

The Chairman of the ad hoc committee in his report accused the suspended members of persistently escalating the crisis and making it extremely difficult for the House to resolve the leadership impasse.

READ ALSO:  Rivers: Only 293,072 Were Accredited To Vote In April 11 Poll – INEC

The House in the plenary also revolved that all legal processes at various courts be exhaustively determined to its logical conclusion to ensure due processes, rule of law and justices to all parties.

It also agreed that the House should restrain itself from engaging the National Assembly on the matter as it would be prejudicial to court proceedings.