12 Finalists Emerge For National Art Competition

After the deliberation of the artists selection committee, led by Professor El Anatsui, Nigerian Breweries Plc. and the African Artists’ Foundation (AAF) has announced the 12 finalists for the eighth annual National Art Competition.

These include: Adetunwase Adenle, Funmi Akindejoye, Michael Enejison, Chinenye Emelogu and Maryam Kazeem. Others are May Okafor, Stacey Okparavero, Komi Olafimihan, Ngozi Omeje, Babatunde Oyeyemi, Folami Razaq and Sebastine Ugwuoke.

The Competition places emphasis on the processes of artistic creation rather than solely the end product, where artists develop ideas and the message of their work.

This is aimed at reflecting renewed focus on artistic processes, an agenda which would be rigorously pursued in the coming years with the theme “Process to Product”.

To this end, finalists have taken part in an Artist Retreat where they had the opportunity to exchange ideas with each other and participate in workshops by leading artists, scholars, and practitioners in their fields.

During the workshop, the finalists, hosted by Samsung Electronics West Africa showcased digital solutions in Art. This was the first time a technology company will be bringing its solutions to a sector that prides itself on creativity.

Workshop facilitator and artist mentors in the Artist Retreat include: Theo Lawson, Patrick Koshoni, Victor Ehikamenor, Fauzi Fahm, Ore Disu and Omoligho Udenta. The crew list also include Yegwa Ukpo, Oliver Enwonwu, Dudu Emmanuel, Stefanie Theuretzbacher, Uche Uzorka, Wura Oguniji, Olu Ajayi, Fidelis Odogwu and Uche Okpa Iroha.

After the Retreat, finalists would have the following three months to execute their final projects. The final exhibition and judging ceremony would take place later this year which will play host to a judging panel of distinguished arts professionals, led by Professor El Anatsui, will deliberate to select the final three winners.

It is sponsored by Nigerian Breweries Plc., coordinated by African Artists’ Foundation (AAF) and supported by Lagos State Internal Revenue Service (LIRS), Samsung Electronics West Africa.

READ ALSO  PDP crisis: Tukur survives plot to sack him

Leave a Reply