Onigbinde Lauds Dalung On NFF Peace Committee

Adegboye Onigbinde, former Super Eagles coach, has lauded Solomon Dalung, the Sports Minister, for setting up a reconciliatory committee over the crisis rocking leadership of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

The nation’s football hierarchy was recently thrown into chaos following the ruling of the Federal High Court in Jos, which nullified the election that brought the Amaju-Pinnick-led board to power.

Consequently, Dalung, on Tuesday, set up a one-week-mandate reconciliatory committee, which was saddled with the responsibility of finding solution to the crisis-ridden NFF.

Speaking to Newsherald on Wednesday, Onigbinde said every lover of Nigerian football should do everything to find enduring peace now that the game was at the lowest ebb.

READ ALSO  Bring come the World Cup - Brazil welcome legend Zagallo to Granja Comary

“Even though I don’t know the terms of reference of the committee, I will only commend the minister for his effort.

“Anybody that loves the game of football in Nigeria should look for peace at this time because our football is at the lowest ebb now, so the minister, even though I have never met him before, is on the right track,” he said.

On the chances of Nigeria for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, given that the country will likely not be among the seeded teams, Onigbinde warned against complacency, saying:

“That is why we need absolute peace in our football; we should guard against any form of complacency if we must qualify for the World Cup. This is not the best of time for Nigerian football, so we must be serious,” he concluded.

READ ALSO  Okagbare returns to IAAF Diamond League train today

Buffeted by criticisms over his lopsided stance on the raging crisis in the NFF, Dalung inaugurated a 7- member committee to advice on the way out of the intractable football leadership logjam.

The committee is headed by former Chairman of the Nigeria football Association (NFA), Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima, during whose term ten years ago, in 2005/2006 the present football leadership crisis evolved.

Other members of the committee, include,  Dr.  Bolaji Ojo-Oba,Okey Obi who serves as secretary.