APC wins Bauchi South senatorial by-election

RULING All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Lawal Yahaya Gumau has won the Bauchi south senatorial by-election held yesterday across seven local government areas of Bauchi state.

While declaring the results, the Returning Officer of the by-election, Professor Ahmed Sarki Fagam announced that the APC candidate polled a total of 119,489 votes out of the total number of 256,763 votes cast in the by-election.

The results further indicated that opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Ladan Saliu poled a total of 50,256 votes while the candidate of the Green Party of Nigeria (GPN) who is the immediate past Governor of the state, Isa Yuguda poled a total of 33,479 votes to emerge third.

READ ALSO  NEITI: Nigeria loses $16b to oil companies

The Returning Officer further announced that ADC polled a total of 1754 votes, APP polled a total of 11,717 votes, DA polled a total of 467 votes, KP polled a total of 240 votes, MMN polled a total of 429 while MPN polled a total of 322. Others are: PDC 1203 votes, NNPP 22,896 votes and SDP 3800 votes.

ALSO READ: PDP to Buhari, APC: Speak out on alleged N21b Daura loot

Ahmed Sarki Fagam disclosed that the total number of registered voters for the seven local government areas that make up the Bauchi senatorial district is 877,160 out of which a total of 271,703 voters were accredited for the by-election while a total of 256,763 votes were cast out of which 11,111 votes were rejected in accordance with the electoral act due to various electoral defects.

READ ALSO  UNICEF convenes global meeting on open defecation

After announcing the results, he stated that “I, Professor Ahmed Sarki Fagam is the Returning Officer for the Bauchi South Senatorial By-election. That Lawal Yahaya Gumau, the candidate of the APC having polled the highest number of votes cast is hereby declared as the winner of the Bauchi South senatorial by-election and is hereby so elected.”

The post APC wins Bauchi South senatorial by-election appeared first on Tribune.

Source:: TribuneOnilne

Leave a Reply